Inspired by a recent dream….

Image

My dearest please,

Tell me where you are.

Have you gone into hiding?

Dissolved into ashes?

Have you transformed?

Perhaps into a flock of grey birds?

The ones I love so much,

That hover near my apartment during sunrise?

 

Which ones are clues?

 

The echo of my footsteps when I walk alone? 

The plastic treasures lost in sidewalk cracks?

The wind in the leaves of the playground trees?

The city buildings acting so mysterious? 

 

At a young age,

I  learned the glorious habit of staying up all night.

Was this to prepare me for the day I find you?

Will I ever find you?

I’m forever guessing…

 

These days i’m unsettled.

The stars aren’t as bright.

The moon still makes my heart beat faster

(it’s what keeps me going),

I’m starting to feel the world’s crushing weight

(I never believed it was light when they told me,

but still,

I used to think it was magic).

 

When I find you i’ll wear a crown made of lavender,

And red lipstick to show off my smile.

I’ll adorn myself with a dress made of lace,

And put daisies on the table by the door.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?